## 3.—Dominion Parliaments, 1867-1921.—concluded.

Number of Parliaments.	Ses- sion.	Date of Opening.	Date of Prorogation.	Days of ses- sion.	Elections, writs returnable, dissolu- tions and lengths of Parliaments.
12th Parliament {	1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th	Nov. 15, 1911 Nov. 21, 1912 Jan. 15, 1914 Aug. 18, 1914 Feb. 4, 1915 Jan. 12, 1916 Jan. 18, 1917	April 1, 1912 June 6, 1913 June 12, 1914 Aug. 22, 1914 April 15, 1915 May 18, 1916 Sept. 20, 1917	139 173 <sup>5</sup> 148 5 71 127 207 <sup>6</sup>	Sept. 21, 1911. <sup>1</sup> Oct. 5, 1911. <sup>2</sup> Oct. 6, 1917. <sup>3</sup> 6 y., 0 m., 0 d. <sup>4</sup>
$\begin{array}{c} \textbf{13th} \\ \textbf{Parliament} \dots \end{array}$	1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th	Mar. 18, 1918 Feb. 20, 1919 Sept. 1, 1919 Feb. 26, 1920 Feb. 14, 1921	May 24, 1918 July 7, 1919 Nov. 10, 1919 July 1, 1920 June 4, 1921	68 138 71 127 111	Dec. 17, 1917.1 Feb. 27, 1918.2

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Period of general elections. <sup>2</sup> Writs returnable. <sup>3</sup> Dissolution of Parliament. <sup>4</sup> Duration of Parliament in years, months, and days. The life of a Parliament is counted from the date of return of election writs to the date of dissolution, both days inclusive. <sup>5</sup>Not including days (25) of adjournment from Dec. 19th, 1912, to Jan. 14th, 1913. <sup>6</sup> Not including days (39) of adjournment from Feb. 7th to April 19th, 1917.

## 4.—Dominion Ministries, 1896-1920.

Office.	Name.		Date of Appointment.	
Eighth Ministry.				
Premier and president of Council	Right Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier	July	11, 1896	
Minister of Trade and Commerce.	RightHon. Sir Richard J. Cartwright	July	13, 1896	
Secretary of State	Hon. R. W. Scott Hon. Charles Murphy	July Oct.	13, 1896 10, 1908	
Minister of Justice	Hon. Sir Oliver Mowat Hon. David Mills Hon. Charles Fitzpatrick Hon. Sir Allen B. Aylesworth	July Nov. Feb. June	13, 1896 18, 1897 11, 1902 4, 1906	
Minister of Marine and Fisheries	Hon. Sir Louis Henry Davies Hon. James Sutherland Hon. J. Raymond F. Préfontaine Hon. Louis P. Brodeur <sup>1</sup> Hon. Rodolphe Lemieux <sup>1</sup>	July Jan. Nov. Feb. Aug.	13, 1896 15, 1902 11, 1902 6, 1906 11, 1911	
Minister of Militia and Defence	Hon. Sir Frederick W. Borden	July	13, 1896	
Postmaster General	Hon. Sir William Mulock Hon. Allen B. Aylesworth Hon. Rodolphe Lemieux Hon. Henri S. Beland	July Oct. June Aug.	13, 1896 16, 1905 4, 1906 11, 1911	
Minister of Agriculture	Hon. Sydney A. Fisher	$\mathbf{July}$	13, 1896	
Minister of Public Works	Hon. Israel J. Tarte Hon. James Sutherland Hon. Charles S. Hyman Hon. William Pugsley	July Nov. May Sept.	13, 1896 11, 1902 22, 1905 13, 1907	

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Also Minister of Naval Service.